Pumpked!

So, beyond blogging constantly, I’ve promised to eat something made with pumpkin each day of October. We haven’t done our weekly shopping yet (I had a cross race on Sunday, give me a break!), so at about 10pm last night, J and I hopped over to New Seasons last night to see if we could find any vegan pumpkin treats. Nothing like cutting it close to the first deadline.

Luckily, they had some Pumpkin Pie Cobbler Bars made by Black Sheep Bakery (their website seems to be down, or I’d link to them) fresh in the deli case.

This is what I look like when I eat? Anyway, you can see that the bar is massive – we bought just the one to split and it was more than enough. Their cobbler bars are soooo good, and this one was very moist with a nice crumble top. I would have preferred a thicker pumpkin layer, but I did also appreciate that the flavor wasn’t totally overwhelming. I’m looking forward to cooking with pumpkin myself, but it’s really nice that Portland has so many vegan pumpkin-y treats available.

Since the picture of my pumpkin smoothie from today is still on my camera, let’s instead talk about the health benefits of pumpkin! Because even though I’m doing this for the kitsch factor, pumpkin is still a pretty amazing squash. And you know, it’s great to learn CUZ KNOWLEDGE IS POWER.

  • Pumpkin is one of the lowest calorie vegetables (I’m assuming after lettuce and celery?), but it’s super rich in fiber, anti-oxidants, minerals, and vitamins, making it great for weight loss (just ask my friend’s dog, seriously).
  • Pumpkin seeds are rich in protein! One ounce of pumpkin seeds contains about seven grams of protein. How do you like that, fellow vegans? They’re also rich in fatty acids.
  • Pumpkin is super high in carotenoids, helping prevent premature aging,  cardiovascular diseases, and protecting the eyes from degeneration. Basically, pumpkins are the fountain of youth. Oh, and since this is the same stuff that’s in carrots and sweet potatoes, yes, it can turn your skin orange. Like I said, should be an interesting month.
  • Pumpkin is high in Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Magnesium, Potassium, Zinc, and Fiber. I feel healthier from my cobbler bar already!
  • “Pumpkin flesh contains L-tryptophan, a chemical compound that triggers feelings of well-being and happiness. Having pumpkin as a part of your daily diet can keep your spirits high and prevent depression.”  You guys! I’m going to be in a perpetual thanksgiving comma! This is getting better and better.
  • Information found at: http://www.bewellbuzz.com/nutrition/pumpkin-health-benefits/ (with some cross-checking on other sites)
Leave a Reply

