My Daily Bread

So I cheated. “What Lorelei? You cheated on day three of pumpkin eating? How could you? How can we trust you for the rest of the month to fulfill your pumpkin duty??” I know, I know. BUT. I cheated with a pumpkin spice latte. And while there is no actual pumpkin in those things, they are one of the most popular pumpkin-flavored food items in the world (source not found). I mean, it’s not autumn until you’ve had a nice hot latte that smells and tastes like melted pumpkin pie. Pumpkin pie that wakes your ass up at work when you had yet another night full of weird dreams. Side note, no more reading Dances with Dragons right before falling asleep.

Soy Half Caff Pumpkin Spice Latte. What a mouthful! Made with Torani syrup. The barista let me read the label, because I was curious on what spices were actually in it. Yah, it’s sugar and “natural flavors”. So who knows. But it tasted great!

Yesterday my pumpkin item was my breakfast smoothie. Last year I posted about my daily food intake, and I was surprised to see very little has changed. It’s important to me to try and eat healthy and often (with the occasional latte or cobbler bar, of course), so my food intake looks mostly like this:

  • First thing in the morning: Smoothie! Brought to you by our new Vitamix! Made with non-dairy milk (soymilk if I’ve made some recently, almonds & water if I haven’t), hemp protein powder, kale (from the garden!), a handful of frozen berries, and a scoop of peanut butter. Variations include different fruit, carob powder, and hemp oil. For the pumpkin smoothie, I replaced the berries for 1/2c. of canned pumpkin and added some cinnamon and nutmeg. We’ll drink this smoothie down while making lunches/getting dressed – with it we have a vegan DHA pill and a vegan multivitamin.
  • Breakfast (roughly 10am): Oatmeal. At work we each keep some quick cooking oats, almonds, and raisins. Just put in a bowl, add some hot water and voila!
  • Lunch (roughly 12:30pm): Piece of fresh fruit and either a small sandwich or leftovers from dinner the night before. Sometimes we’ll make a tempeh rice bowl. Sometimes we’ll throw together a salad and bring it if lunch doesn’t look filling.
  • Snack (roughly 3pm): Soyyogurt (we live off Wildwood, but I want to start making our own soon!) with a few frozen berries mixed in. Sometimes we’ll bring a small second lunch.
  • Dinner (roughly 6-7pm): The usual vegan fare – we try to always include a complete protein (we’re big rice and bean eaters) and some kind of vegetable or green. We also try to make something that will produce leftovers as often as we can – it’s a great week when we have time to make a casserole.
  • Snack (roughly 9pm): If I’m not going to sleep too early, I’ll usually have a piece of peanut butter toast, or some air-popped popcorn, or a couple pieces of licorice.

I’m sure there’s some room for improvement, but for two people with crazy busy schedules, we do very well on eating well-rounded homemade goods. It’s funny to see the amount of tupperware I pull out of my bag at work though! We manage to keep it at $70/week for groceries for the two of us (which, considering the oils, vitamins, and other specialty items, I’m totally okay with), and we stay full, healthy, and strong enough to cycle.

3 comments

  1. I admit, I only like pumpkin in savoury things. But I’ve also got to admit that I didn’t exactly grow up on pumpkin and I don’t think something like a pumpkin flavoured latte exists over here. But who knows. And if I ever find it, I’ll try it!

  2. I’ve heard about pumpkin spice on so many blogs, but I don’t really know what it is. Perhaps I will investigate. I have so much canned pumpkin, it’s just silly. My mom and I pressure canned about 1 million jars of it last year! So, I probably should have picked your pumpkin theme too!

Leave a Reply

